About UMA


    University of Mohaghegh Ardabili (UMA), which is named after the honor of Ardabil’s great scholar Allameh Mohaghegh Ardabili, is a public university for training and research in a variety of areas of Basic Sciences, Engineering, Agriculture, New Technologies, Humanities, and Social Sciences. It is the most prominent academic institution in the region and according to some national and international formal reports; it is one of the fastest-growing universities in Iran.

    The main campus of the university is located on the east side of the beautiful Shorabil Lake in Ardabil. Three other campuses are in Namin, Moghan, and Meshgin Shahr. The university is now organized into eight faculties that offer a wide range of undergraduate and graduate programs in a variety of fields. The students come from different parts of the country. Within a climate that is inclusive, open, and diverse, UMA is, and will continue to be, the University of Choice for students seeking high quality.

    UMA will keep on its attempts to build a foundation for civic responsibilities, individual skills, and professional success. Currently, UMA has five faculties in the main campus and one faculty in each of Namin, Meshgin Shahr, and Moghan Campus with about 12920 students, 354 faculty members, and 317 staff. It now offers more than 263 majors, 59 Ph.D. programs, 125 Master programs, 71 Bachelor programs, and 8 Associate programs. UMA has managed to occupy a niche among 31 universities nationwide with both “very high” research activity and ‘notable community engagement” as reported by national authorities.

    UMA Virtual Tour

    UMA's Brochure